Once upon a time…

Recently, my cousin and aunt, while on a road trip, stopped by.
My cousin said she had a couple of things from my Mom that she wanted to send to me, they arrived today.

Now for anyone who wasn’t around hundreds of blog posts ago, I was not raised by my Mom. We met for the first time when I was 15 and I was living in a foster home. It’s very surreal to meet a parent, and while it was a healing balm on the one hand, it began the most complex relationship and series of difficult lessons I’ve ever experienced.

It was spring of 1977 when I met Mom, I was 15 years old. I was young, insecure and searching to find my place… not my place in the world as I perceived many teenagers were doing, I wanted to figure out how I fit into a family. More than anything, I wanted to be “normal”.
Now I realize, that is what every 15 year old wants, regardless of their circumstances… at the time I thought it was just me, and just my circumstances.

Anyway, in the package my cousin sent was a bracelet that (unknown to her) I’d made for my Mom many years ago. There was also a poem that I wrote in May of 1977, about a week after meeting my Mom:

FOR MOTHER
Where am I going? Take my hand, show me the way
I want a home, peace, a place to rest and play.
I’m not looking at my future, just thinking about today
Listening to silence, I hear a soft voice say:
“I’ll show you how, where and why, just take my hand
We’ll go home, far across the sand.
And there’s a place of peace and rest
Follow me, I know what’s best.
I’ve been there, I know your dream
And that things aren’t always as bad as they may seem.
I’ve been around and know how you feel
I’ve felt your hurts, beleive me they’ll heal.
Don’t ever feel alone, I’ll be there
And no matter what, I’ll always care.
When you’re down and you cry
Come to me, I’ll listen and your tears, I’ll dry”
Now you’ve shown me where I’m going, shown me the way
You gave me a home, peace, a place to rest and play.

4 Responses to “Once upon a time…”

  1. Awww… that’s sweet! I am constantly amazed at what sorts of things my mother has kept over the years!

  2. todaysaddiction Says:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that Mom’s are amazing… all of them. Even the one’s with difficult relationships, we receive so many of their gifts… some gifts are just more direct than others.
    I think there is a reason that each of us has to have one…

  3. When I was about 10 I had a recorded my little brother singing my mother a song. I was a teenager when I needed a tape, and erased that song. I regretted it then. Years later, my brother was murdered, and I sure wish I had that song.

  4. TodaysAddiction Says:

    Oh Mark….
    There is no way to know potential futures when in the present…
    Thankfully memories and warm feelings can never be erased.

Leave a Reply

